Saturday, May 3, 2014

'I LOVE BOOKS' - Live On-Air Interview - May 10, 2014 - 3:00 PM (PDT) - CHRISTOPHER YATES, Author of 'BLACK CHALK'


One game. Six students. Five survivors. It was only ever meant to be a game. A game of consequences, of silly forfeits, childish dares. A game to be played by six best friends in their first year at Oxford University. But then the game changed: the stakes grew higher and the dares more personal, more humiliating, finally evolving into a vicious struggle with unpredictable and tragic results. 
Now, 14 years later, the remaining players must meet again for the final round. 
A gripping psychological thriller, partly inspired by the author's own time at Oxford University,  this is perfect for fans of The Secret HistoryThe Bellwether Revivals, and The Lessons. Clever, dark, and compulsively readable, this is an ideal book group title: who knows better than your best friends, what would break you? The author's background in puzzle writing and setting can clearly be seen in the plotting of this clever, tricksy book that will keep readers guessing to the very end.


Christopher J. Yates was born in London but brought up mostly in Kent. He studied Law at Wadham College, Oxford and then vacillated between the idea of a career in the law and working in puzzle magazines. After coming down on the side of the latter, he finally realised what he really wanted to do. Write.
He decided he would give himself until his fortieth birthday to attempt to achieve this dream. And then, just one day before turning forty, he found out that he was in fact going to become a published author. In Russia. (But that’s another story.) He now lives in New York City with his wife, Margi. And also his  furiously hungry dog, Mabel.  Black Chalk is his first novel. 

No comments: